
The area
St.Teilo’s church is situated in a small hamlet at the top of a pretty river valley, which opens onto the Epynt range of hills.
The church
The present church dates from the 15th century ,although the Faith is believed to have been established on the site by Gwrmaeth, a disciple of St.Teilo around 540AD.
The church was restored in 1875 but still retains the lovely, simple proportions of a small country church with its hammer-beam roof and sturdy remains of the original Rood screen. The loft was originally entered by a doorway in the east end of the church. The blocked up doorway can still be seen.
The Pre-Reformation water stoop can be seen on the right of the door as you enter the church, and the ancient font still survives. The oak lid is dedicated to Mr.W.H.Davies, Churchwarden 1954-1986.
The surrounding graveyard, which is still in use, is encircled by an ancient stone wall and lych-gate.
Anyone entering this small church will notice the atmosphere of peace,quiet and holiness, which only an ancient building with its ceaseless centuries of worship can acquire.
Churchwarden and Ministry Area Council Member
Churchwarden and Ministry Area Council Member – Valerie Lewis, Tel no: 01874 636598.

